Third Prenatal Visit

Today was my third prenatal doctor’s appointment… and it started off with a bang. Literally. Bobby was going to come along and he was going to meet me at my doctor’s office and he got rear ended on his way! He was literally 5 minutes away when the accident happened ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Thankfully,ย he is okay. The two drivers are also okay.. but probably more injured. Basically, Bobby was stopped in traffic and the lady behind him was slowing down (to stop in time)… and the guy behind her didn’t stop at all… and crashed into the lady… who then crashed into Bobby.

I just got to my doctor’s office when Bobby called to tell me what happened and I immediately panicked. He’s okay though but he was going to miss my appointment and not hear Baby L’s heart beat again ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I didn’t want to hold my doctor up so I checked in, hoping she was running late so that Bobby could make it to the end of my appointment. As per usual, I had to get a urine sample and the MOA weighed me (I am just under 128 lbs). Well, today was the day my doctor was running on schedule. I told her about Bobby’s accident and she was sympathetic about it… we did my blood test, and she commented that I haven’t gained very much weight (about 5 pounds in total). I’ve only been inhaling everything in site… but I guess I didn’t have much of an appetite the last 10 days or so during the heat wave.

She then wrote me a doctor’s note for my trip… and answered my questions (eg: what to take for nausea or allergies when I am away)… and she talked me off the ledge on how round ligament pains (the sharp pains I’ve been getting down there) are normal… and we made small talk about my upcoming trip… but alas, she had to proceed with the heart beat check part. I was so stressed/sad about Bobby missing this.. again… but my doctor told me to just wait in the waiting room and she would bring me back into the room again when Bobby arrived and we could hear the heart beat again ๐Ÿ™‚

I waited about 30 minutes until Bobby arrived. Turns out the hold up was that he was talking to his insurance because he has a company car… which makes things so much more complicated and annoying!! But anyway, he arrived and so we got sent back to the room and Bobby FINALLY got to hear Baby L’s heart beat. He thought it was really cool ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

I am due to see my doctor in a month’s time… and I am also due for my next (and final) ultrasound. At the next ultrasound, we can FINALLY get the baby’s gender (if the baby cooperates of course). I am still trying to decide if I want to do a 3D ultrasound. This is not covered by our health insurance – I will have to pay out of pocket and I think it is worth it! Bobby think’s it’s only worth it if they actually give us a 3D print out of the baby *eyeroll* ๐Ÿ™‚

Today also marks the start of my 17th week of pregnancy. Baby L is now measuring approximately 5 inches long and apparently his/her hair, eyelashes, eye brows, finger/toe nails are growing. His/her reflexes (eg: swallowing and blinking) are also developing… and his/her teeny tiny heart is pumping as much asย 20L of blood a day.ย For reference, an adult heart pumps approximately 7600L of blood per day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

